Here in Springfield, Missouri, a group of citizens gathered in a public library in 1994 determined to find a way to help students accomplish their dreams of pursuing writing and literary careers. The result: The Writers Hall of Fame.During the past 15 years, the Board of Directors of the nonprofit Writers Hall of Fame has awarded writing scholarships to more than 100 senior high school students.  To raise funds to provide these college scholarships, Board members have inducted more than 50 literary illuminaries into the Writers Hall of Fame and have sponsored annual public recognition events where students can meet their role models. Recent Quill Award inductees have included business writer Jack Stack, novelist Daniel Woodrell, African-American authors Patricia and Frederick McKissack and young adult authors Kate Klise and Gary Blackwood.


Help Us Award Writing Scholarships to Students

Since 1994, the Writers Hall of Fame has awarded scholarships and helped support the education of more than 100 promising students. Help us continue to support this important mission in any of the following ways. All donations are tax-deductible. Scholarships can be named in memory or recognition. To donate or receive more information, contact Writers Hall of Fame President Kaitlyn McConnell at . Thank you for considering a contribution as a way to foster the talents of aspiring young writers.

$1,000 writing scholarship
$500 writing scholarship
$250 writing scholarship
$100 donation
$50 donation
$25 donation


2019 Board of Directors:

Kaitlyn McConnell, President
Randy Berger , Vice-President
Casey Daugherty , Secretary
Amos Bridges, Treasurer
Linda Benson
Joshua Best
Kim Flores
Kim Chism Jasper
Yolanda Lorge
Kathy McQueen
Melissa Troxell
Maryann Wakefield

Advisory Board: W.D. Blackmon, Julie Bloodworth, James Leon Combs, Jeanne Duffey, David Harrison, Bob Ranney, Paul Reinert